forgot password

Sonic Divide

Sonic Divide
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Postal code:
Wayne Holden, Glenn Johnson, Steve Pirie, Andy Young, Evan Johnson, Ian Slade
Van Halen, 3 Doors Down, Muse


Sonic Divide was formed through the chance meeting of Glenn Johnson and Wayne Holden in 2007. Upon deciding it would be good to put together a band for recreational purposes, it was a simple task to call on other musicians they had played with, known or simply seen around town. Wayne (lead vocals), Andy Young (originally on guitar), Glenn (lead guitar) and Ian Slade (bass) formed the very first jam session - without a drummer. After a couple of iterations, Steve Pirie joined the line up on guitar, Andy moved to keyboards and Evan Johnson joined on drums.

Rehearsing regularly gave Glenn the platform to try one of his original songs. Wayne also put an original song forward, then others began to write, and Sonic Divide became a writing project. The demos of their original songs soon caught the ear of well known Adelaide producer/engineer Darren Mullan, and as a result, Sonic Divide entered the studio in early 2013 under Darrens expert guidance to record nine of their original songs, with a view to releasing an album before the end of the year.

Sonic Divide released their debut independent album "Sonic Divide" in late 2013. With a blend of soaring guitars, keyboards and multi-layered vocals, Sonic Divide's debut album unleashes a rich tapestry of songs that blur the lines between the various "Rock" sub-genres. The creativity that emanates from the broad influences of the individual band members has resulted in a sound that has been likened to that of 3 Doors Down, Muse and Bon Jovi while still maintaining a unique sense of originality. Recorded and produced by Darren Mullan at Karisma Studios, this album is a great representation of who they are. The album is available for purchase worldwide.